Book & Author Awards

Welcome to the awards section of Book Notification.

This is the place where you can find all the top book awards and their winners and nominations. It’s perfect for when you’re looking for your next book to dive into or if you’re curious about which books are making waves in the literary world. These are books that have been recognized for being the best of the best, so you’re bound to find something that catches your eye.

If you’re a member of Book Notification, you will also be able to see your book status on every book. So if you are on a mission to read every Edgar Award Winning Novel for example, the page for the Edgar Awards would show which books you have read, and which ones you are still to read. You can even add them to your “Want To Read” list straight from each awards page.

Here is a current list of awards that we have:

Here is a text listing of all of the awards currently listed on the site:

Bony Blithe Awards: The Bony Blithe awards began in 2012, and ran until 2021 when ‘Bony Blithe’ retired. They celebrated the great Canadian light mystery, with a focus on mystery books written by Canadian authors, but on the lighter side.

Dilys Awards: The Dilys Awards were named after Dilys Winn. She was the founder of the first ever bookstore dedicated to mystery novels in the United States. They ran from 1993 to 2014, awarding the best mystery novel from the prior year.

Edgar Awards: Technically named the Edgar Allan Poe Awards, these awards were created and presented annually by the Mystery Writers of America. Over the years along with book awards they have awarded best plays, best TV episodes etc. The Edgar Awards also have awards in tribute to particular authors such as the Mary Higgins Clark Award and the Sue Grafton Memorial Award.

Gumshoe Awards: Awards handed out each year by Mystery Ink Magazine from 2002 through 2008, with a strong focus on the crime fiction genre.

Hillerman Prize: Named after Tony Hillerman, this award is a unique one in the book world. It is awarded to an author who hasn’t published a novel yet. The unpublished novel that they have written must be a mystery novel set in the American Southwest.

Theakston’s Old Peculier Awards: Sponsored by the Theakston brewery, these awards are very prestigious in the world of UK crime fiction, and award both the best crime novel of the year, and the outstanding contribution to crime fiction award.

Women’s Prize for Fiction Awards: These began in 1996 due largely to the 1991 Booker Awards not nominating any women. Initially called the Orange Prize for Fiction, these awards celebrate the great female authors.

Book Notification is an Amazon Associate. Book links to Amazon, eBay and other book stores are affiliate links, and we earn money from any qualifying purchases.

Welcome to Book Notification!

Are we missing any books or looking for an author that isn't on the site? Have any feedback or ideas that will enhance your experience? Contact us below.

    To see what we are currently working on as well as some of our future plans, see our road map.
    Monthly Contest
    affiliate disclaimer

    We are giving away 10 $25 gift cards. Every time you comment on an author page in the Author Discussion section at the bottom, you are entered into the sweepstakes. So get commenting! Winners announced in the next newsletter.

    Upcoming Books
    Popular Authors:
    Todays Most Followed Authors:
    Skip to content