2023 Hugo Award Winners Announced

By: Brandon Williams, October 23rd, 2023 5:10 pm.

The Hugo Awards, one of the most prestigious accolades in the world of science fiction and fantasy, returned in 2023 to honor the outstanding achievements in these imaginative genres. Fans, authors, and enthusiasts from around the world eagerly awaited the announcement of this year’s winners. The 2023 Hugo Awards not only recognized exceptional works but also showcased the diversity and innovation that continue to shape the ever-evolving landscape of speculative fiction. Let’s dive into the highlights of this year’s winners.

2023 Hugo Award Winners

Best Novel: Nettle & Bone by T. Kingfisher

The Best Novel category is always highly anticipated, and this year’s winner, Nettle & Bone by T. Kingfisher, proved to be a masterful storyteller. With rich world-building, memorable characters, and imaginative narratives, Kingfisher’s Nettle & Bone continues to captivate readers and ignite their imaginations. This remarkable work truly deserves the Hugo Award for Best Novel, showcasing the depth and diversity of contemporary science fiction and fantasy.

Best Novella: Where the Drowned Girls Go by Seanan McGuire

Seanan McGuire‘s Where the Drowned Girls Go takes the prestigious Hugo Award for Best Novella. McGuire’s talent for crafting compelling, emotionally resonant tales within the confines of a novella is on full display here. This work invites readers into a world of mystery, wonder, and heartache. McGuire’s win is a testament to her ability to weave powerful narratives that leave a lasting impact.

Best Novelette: The Space-Time Painter by Hai Ya

Hai Ya’s The Space-Time Painter is a dazzling novelette that received the Hugo Award for Best Novelette. Published in Galaxy’s Edge in April 2022, this story combines inventive science fiction concepts with lyrical prose. The tale explores themes of art, time, and human nature, showcasing the depth and diversity of the science fiction genre.

Best Short Story: Rabbit Test by Samantha Mills

In the Best Short Story category, Samantha Mills‘ “Rabbit Test,” featured in Uncanny Magazine’s November-December 2022 issue, stood out as the winner. Mills skillfully blends science fiction and fantasy elements to craft a thought-provoking narrative. “Rabbit Test” challenges readers to reconsider their perceptions of reality and human-animal relationships, exemplifying the power of short fiction to explore profound themes.

Best Series: Children of Time Series by Adrian Tchaikovsky

Adrian Tchaikovsky‘s Children of Time series takes home the Hugo Award for Best Series. This epic series has enthralled readers with its expansive universe and complex characters. Tchaikovsky’s world-building and storytelling prowess shine through, making this series a hallmark of contemporary science fiction.

Best Graphic Story or Comic: Cyberpunk 2077: Big City Dreams by Bartosz Sztybor

In the realm of graphic storytelling, Cyberpunk 2077: Big City Dreams, with Bartosz Sztybor as the writer and a talented artistic team, wins the Hugo Award for Best Graphic Story or Comic. This enthralling graphic tale immerses readers in a cyberpunk future filled with intrigue and technological marvels.

Best Related Work: Terry Pratchett: A Life With Footnotes by Rob Wilkins

Rob Wilkins’ Terry Pratchett: A Life With Footnotes is the recipient of the Hugo Award for Best Related Work. This insightful book provides a window into the life and legacy of the beloved author Terry Pratchett. Wilkins’ work is a tribute to a master storyteller and a valuable resource for fans and scholars alike.

The Hugo Awards also acknowledge the integral role of editors, magazines, and fan writers in the science fiction and fantasy community. Neil Clarke and Lindsey Hall were honored with the titles of Best Editor, Short Form and Best Editor, Long Form, respectively. Uncanny Magazine won the Hugo for Best Semiprozine, while Zero Gravity Newspaper claimed the award for Best Fanzine. Chris M. Barkley, a fan writer who has made significant contributions to the genre, received the Hugo for Best Fan Writer.

The Lodestar Award for Best Young Adult Book was presented to Nnedi Okorafor for Akata Woman. Okorafor continues to captivate young readers with her imaginative and culturally rich storytelling.

The Astounding Award for Best New Writer, presented by Dell Magazines, went to Travis Baldree, who has made a remarkable entry into the science fiction and fantasy field.

The 2023 Hugo Awards celebrate the diversity, creativity, and excellence that define the realms of science fiction and fantasy. From established authors to emerging voices, these awards honor the writers, artists, and creators who continue to push the boundaries of speculative fiction. The winners exemplify the genre’s enduring power to inspire, entertain, and provoke thought. As we celebrate these outstanding works, we also look forward to the future contributions that will shape the ever-evolving landscape of science fiction and fantasy.

For the remaining awards, including those for best presentations and artists, please see the 2023 Hugo Award Winners at their website. You can also see our news post about last year’s winners.

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Book Notification is an Amazon Associate. Book links to Amazon, eBay and other book stores are affiliate links, and we earn money from any qualifying purchases.

Welcome to Book Notification!

Are we missing any books or looking for an author that isn't on the site? Have any feedback or ideas that will enhance your experience? Contact us below.

    To see what we are currently working on as well as some of our future plans, see our road map.
    Monthly Contest
    affiliate disclaimer

    We are giving away 10 $25 gift cards. Every time you comment on an author page in the Author Discussion section at the bottom, you are entered into the sweepstakes. So get commenting! Winners announced in the next newsletter.

    Upcoming Books
    May 27
    May 27
    May 27
    Popular Authors:
    Todays Most Followed Authors:
    Skip to content