Joy Ellis

Joy Ellis

This is a complete list of Joy Ellis books in publication and chronological order, broken down by series or category.

Book Notification is an Amazon Associate. If you click on a book title it will take you to Amazon where you can read more about the book or purchase it. We earn money from qualifying purchases.

List of DI Nikki Galena & DS Joe Easter Books in Publication Order

#Title Published Book Link
Mask Wars / Crime on the Fens
Shadowbreaker / Shadow Over the Fens
Hunted on the Fens
Killer on the Fens
Stalker on the Fens
Captive on the Fens
Buried on the Fens
Thieves On The Fens
Fire on the Fens
Darkness on the Fens
Hidden on the Fens
Secrets on the Fens
Fear on the Fens
Graves on the Fens

List of DI Rowan Jackman & DS Maria Evens Books in Publication Order

List of Detective Matt Ballard Books in Publication Order

List of Standalone Novels in Publication Order

List of Joy Ellis Anthologies in Publication Order

Joy Ellis Biography

Joy Ellis was born in Blackfen, London, Kent, England. Ellis attended .

Joy Ellis is the author of the DI Nikki Galena & DS Joe Easter series which currently consists of 14 novels. The DI Nikki Galena & DS Joe Easter series started in 2010 with the novel Mask Wars / Crime on the Fens . The most recently released novel in the DI Nikki Galena & DS Joe Easter series was Graves on the Fens which was released in 2022. There are no upcoming novels for the DI Nikki Galena & DS Joe Easter series.

Joy Ellis has also written the DI Rowan Jackman & DS Maria Evens series which has 9 books including The Murderer's Son and Their Lost Daughters.

Joy Ellis Awards & Accolades

Elliss book, The Patient Man was nominated for the British Book Awards, Crime and Thriller Book of the Year, in 2021.

Joy Ellis F.A.Q

Where was Joy Ellis Born?

Joy Ellis was born in Blackfen, London, Kent, England and is English.

What was the first book Joy Ellis wrote?

The first novel written by Joy Ellis was Mask Wars / Crime on the Fens , published in 2010.

What was the most recent book Joy Ellis wrote?

Her most recently released work was Graves on the Fens on December 8th, 2022.

Will there be any more books by Joy Ellis?

Joy Ellis does not have any upcoming novels with a set publication date within the next few months at this time.

How many books has Joy Ellis written?

Joy Ellis has written 29 books. 14 books in the DI Nikki Galena & DS Joe Easter Series, 9 books in the DI Rowan Jackman & DS Maria Evens Series, 5 books in the Detective Matt Ballard Series, 1 Standalone Novel.
Notify of
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Andrew M.

My best series by Joy Ellis is DCI Matt Ballard but I also liked the DI Nikki Galena series.
I only started reading her work about a year ago, and I have come to appreciate it, thanks to this list of books by Ellis.
She does an excellent job in creating realistic characters throughout the books.
I never thought any character could surpass my favorite detective, Nikki Galena, but Ellis brought in DCI Matthew Ballard, whom I adore.
Her work is full of mystery and intrigue and surpassed my expectations in Beware the Past.

She uses her well-drawn characters and a harrowing case to solve to keep you hooked up throughout her books.

Of course, you’ll not miss out on the twists and turns in her work to keep you hooked.

Austin D.

Joy’s Nikki Galena series is outstanding, as are her Jackman and Evans books. Joy does a fantastic job in both series of creating some believable characters. Her plotting is realistic, with these overworked detectives handling multiple cases.

Their Lost Daughters, the second Jackman and Evans novel, takes a little bit to get going, but once it does, you just want to continue reading until it’s over. Joy throws in many plot twists you don’t see coming, with a major twist which comes from outta nowhere.

Another novel, called The Dying Light, is outstanding, with an ending I never saw coming at all.

Edgar A.

I absolutely love anything by Joy Ellis and I have read most of the Nikki Galena novels and the Jackman & Marie series of novels several times over. I have to say that Ellis seems to be getting better with every novel that she writes.

Their Lost Daughters the second of the DI Jackman and DS Evans series had me enthralled right from the first paragraph and up to the heartfelt, stunning and shocking conclusion.

I think what makes this novel special is the brilliant storytelling, twists and turns and the sense of relief when the perpetrator is caught which is very rare in contemporary crime fiction.

Another brilliant Joy Ellis novel is Beware the Past which is the debut of the DCI Matt Ballard series.

From the moment I completed the first chapter I knew that I had another heart pounding, breathtaking and phenomenal new series to read. I have always been caught thinking I had the culprit picked only to find I was so wrong.

Michael K.

Joy Ellis proves that you don’t need originality to tell a compelling story. That sounds like a bad thing, like I’m calling Ellis unoriginal. But that isn’t necessarily true. First of all, critics will tell you that every story has already been written, and every new novel tells a variation of the same three or four stories.

Ellis writes psychological thrillers, and most psychological thrillers rely on the same set of tropes and cliches, which is why the synopsis for ‘Beware the Past’ was initially off-putting.

The protagonist was an experienced detective haunted by a previous case. He had to contend with a killer that kept taunting him. Forget about books for a second. Every psychological thriller on TV and in movies uses this blueprint, and frankly, I’m sick of it.

If my book club hadn’t selected the novel for January, I wouldn’t have given it a second thought. But the first chapter won me over. I read all 369 pages in two days because I couldn’t put the book down. I still don’t care for the psychological thriller genre. But I am willing to make Ellis the exception.

I love her books. All series. More, please!

    To see what we are currently working on as well as some of our future plans, see our road map.

    Book Notification is an Amazon Associate. Book links to Amazon and other book stores are affiliate links, and we earn money from any qualifying purchases.

    Upcoming Books
    Feb 08
    Feb 08
    Feb 08
    Feb 08