Newbery Award Winner and More Announced at 2023 Youth Media Awards

By: Brandon Williams, January 31st, 2023 3:01 pm.

Several children’s fiction awards, including the Newbery, Caldecott, and Printz awards, have been announced by the American Library Association. The awards are collectively referred to as the Youth Media Awards. The Newbery Award is especially prestigious and has been around since 1921.

We have listed the majority of the award winners below along with a description of the award.

John Newbery Medal

(For the most outstanding contribution to children’s literature.)

Randolph Caldecott Medal

(For the most distinguished American picture book for children.)

Michael L. Printz Award

(For excellence in literature written for young adults.)

Alex Awards

(For the 10 best adult books that appeal to teen audiences.)

Schneider Family Book Awards

(For books that embody an artistic expression of the disability experience.)

Stonewall Book Award

(For English-language works of exceptional merit for children or teens relating to the LGBTQ+ experience.)

Sydney Taylor Book Awards

(For outstanding books for children and teens that authentically portray the Jewish experience.)

  • Picture Book: The Tower of Life by Chana Stiefel
  • Middle Grade: Aviva vs. the Dybbuk by Mari Lowe
  • Young Adult: When the Angels Left the Old Country by Sacha Lamb

Coretta Scott King Book Awards

(For African American creators of outstanding books for children and young adults.)

  • Author Award: Freewater by Amina Luqman-Dawson
  • Coretta Scott King/John Steptoe New Talent Award: We Deserve Monuments by Jas Hammonds
  • Coretta Scott King-Virginia Hamilton Award for Lifetime Achievement: Claudette McLinn

Sydney Taylor Book Awards

(For Latinx creators whose children’s/YA books best represent the Latino experience.)

  • Children’s Author: Frizzy by Claribel A. Ortega
  • Young Adult Author: Burn Down, Rise Up by Vincent Tirado

Asian/Pacific American Award for Literature

(Promotes Asian/Pacific American culture and heritage.)

  • Picture Book: From the Tops of the Trees by Kao Kalia Yang
  • Children’s Literature: Maizy Chen’s Last Chance by Lisa Yee
  • YA Literature: Himawari House by Harmony Becker

Mildred L. Batchelder Award

(For an outstanding non-US/non-English children’s book translated into English in the US.)

  • Just a Girl: A True Story of World War II by Lia Levi

Congratulations to all of the winners! For the complete list or to watch the video of the event, please see the 2023 Youth Media Award winners.

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

    To see what we are currently working on as well as some of our future plans, see our road map.

    Book Notification is an Amazon Associate. Book links to Amazon and other book stores are affiliate links, and we earn money from any qualifying purchases.

    Upcoming Books