Gordon Burn Prize Nominations Announced

By: Graeme, August 4th, 2022 9:08 am.

The Gordon Burn Prize is an interesting award in the book industry, as books that make it on the shortlist are books that are deemed the “boldest and most innovative” novels released in the past year.

The winner of this award receives five thousand pounds, and also gets a retreat at Gordon Burns cottage for a few months.

The actual winner of the award will be announced on October 13th.

Here are the nominations:

  • Graeme Macrae Burnet: Case Study
  • Margo Jefferson: Constructing a Nervous System
  • Preti Taneja: Aftermath
  • David Whitehouse: About A Son
  • Leah Ypi: Free: A Child and a Country at the End of History

Previous winners of this prestigious prize include Denise Mina for The Long Drop, and Paul Kingsnorth for The Wake.

Last year’s winner was Hanif Abdurraqib for A Little Devil in America.

Gordon Burn was an author who passed away on July 17th, 2009. His novel Alma Cogan, released in 1991, was a Whitbread Award Winner.

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Book Notification is an Amazon Associate. Book links to Amazon, eBay and other book stores are affiliate links, and we earn money from any qualifying purchases.

Welcome to Book Notification!

Are we missing any books or looking for an author that isn't on the site? Have any feedback or ideas that will enhance your experience? Contact us below.

    To see what we are currently working on as well as some of our future plans, see our road map.
    Monthly Contest
    affiliate disclaimer

    We are giving away 10 $25 gift cards. Every time you comment on an author page in the Author Discussion section at the bottom, you are entered into the sweepstakes. So get commenting! Winners announced in the next newsletter.

    Upcoming Books
    Jun 17
    Jun 17
    Jun 17
    Popular Authors:
    Todays Most Followed Authors:
    Skip to content