Announcing the CWA Dagger Winners

By: Brandon Williams, July 18th, 2023 2:07 pm.

On July 6th, 2023, the prestigious Crime Writers’ Association (CWA) Dagger Awards ceremony took place in London at the Leonardo Royal London City Hotel, honoring the most outstanding crime fiction and non-fiction works of the year. Established in 1955, the CWA Daggers have become synonymous with excellence in the crime writing genre, recognizing talented authors who have crafted compelling narratives that keep readers on the edge of their seats. Let’s take a closer look at the winners of the 2023 CWA Dagger Awards:

CWA Dagger Award Winners

Diamond Dagger: Walter Mosley

The Diamond Dagger, considered the lifetime achievement award, was presented to Walter Mosley. As a highly influential figure in crime fiction, Mosley’s extensive body of work has captured the imagination of readers worldwide. His thought-provoking narratives and rich character development have made a lasting impact on the genre.

Gold Dagger: The Kingdoms of Savannah by George Dawes Green

The Gold Dagger, awarded to the best crime novel of the year, was bestowed upon George Dawes Green for his novel The Kingdoms of Savannah. With its intricate plot and engaging storytelling, Green’s work stood out among the many exceptional crime novels released during the year.

Ian Fleming Steel Dagger: Seventeen by John Brownlow

Named after the iconic creator of James Bond, the Ian Fleming Steel Dagger recognizes excellence in thrillers. This year’s recipient was John Brownlow for his gripping novel Seventeen. Brownlow’s ability to weave suspense and intrigue throughout the narrative cemented his place as a master of the thriller genre.

New Blood Dagger: Dirt Town by Hayley Scrivenor

The New Blood Dagger celebrates debut crime authors, and this year it was awarded to Hayley Scrivenor for her novel Dirt Town (also known as Dirt Creek). With a fresh voice and original storytelling, Scrivenor’s entry into the world of crime fiction promises a bright future for her writing career.

Historical Dagger: The Darkest Sin by D.V. Bishop

D.V. Bishop received the Historical Dagger for The Darkest Sin, an exceptional crime novel set in a historical context. This award recognizes Bishop’s ability to transport readers to the past while delivering an engrossing mystery.

Crime Fiction in Translation Dagger: Even the Darkest Night by Javier Cercas

The Crime Fiction in Translation Dagger acknowledges the importance of bringing crime literature from different cultures to English-speaking audiences. This year, Javier Cercas was honored for Even the Darkest Night, a translated work (from Spanish) that captivated readers with its unique perspective and storytelling. The English translation was done by Anne McLean.

Short Story Dagger: Cast a Long Shadow by Hazell Ward

Short stories often have the power to leave a lasting impact on readers. Hazell Ward‘s “Cast a Long Shadow” received the Short Story Dagger, showcasing the author’s ability to craft a compelling crime narrative within a limited space.

Non-Fiction Dagger: Unlawful Killings by Wendy Joseph

The Non-Fiction Dagger recognizes exceptional crime-related non-fiction works. Wendy Joseph‘s Unlawful Killings delves into real-life mysteries, criminal investigations, or historical crime events, shedding light on true stories that have shaped the genre and our understanding of crime.

Congratulations to all of the winners!

The 2023 CWA Dagger Awards ceremony highlighted the diversity and creativity within the crime writing genre. From seasoned veterans to emerging talents, the winners and nominees have enriched the literary world with their exceptional storytelling and commitment to the art of crime fiction and non-fiction writing. As readers, we can look forward to more thrilling and captivating works from these talented authors in the years to come.

To see all of the finalists for the various awards, please see our earlier article for the 2023 CWA Dagger Shortlists. For more on the awards, please visit the CWA website.

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Book Notification is an Amazon Associate. Book links to Amazon, eBay and other book stores are affiliate links, and we earn money from any qualifying purchases.

Welcome to Book Notification!

Are we missing any books or looking for an author that isn't on the site? Have any feedback or ideas that will enhance your experience? Contact us below.

    To see what we are currently working on as well as some of our future plans, see our road map.
    Monthly Contest
    affiliate disclaimer

    We are giving away 10 $25 gift cards. Every time you comment on an author page in the Author Discussion section at the bottom, you are entered into the sweepstakes. So get commenting! Winners announced in the next newsletter.

    Upcoming Books
    Apr 14
    Apr 14
    Apr 14
    Slay King

    Written by Abbi Glines

    Apr 14
    Apr 14
    Popular Authors:
    Todays Most Followed Authors:
    Skip to content