2024 Macavity Award Nominees Announced!

By: Brandon Williams, June 2nd, 2024 4:06 pm.

The 2024 Macavity Award nominees have been announced!

The Macavity Awards were established in 1987. They’re made up of five different awards – Best Mystery Novel, Best First Mystery Novel, Best Mystery Nonfiction/Critical, Best Mystery Short Story, and the Sue Feder Memorial Award for Best Historical Mystery.

The awards are nominated and voted on by members (and friends) of Mystery Readers International, and subscribers to Mystery Readers Journal.

Best Mystery Novel

The Best Mystery Novel Award past winners include a who’s who of mystery novelists, such as P.D. James, Nancy Pickard, Tony Hillerman, Carolyn Hart, Deborah Crombie, Michael Connelly, Laura Lippman, Louise Penny, Anthony Horowitz, and so many more.

Best First Mystery

Past winners of the Best First Mystery Award include Faye Kellerman, Caroline Graham, C.J. Box, Julia Spencer-Fleming, Jacqueline Winspear, Tana French, Stieg Larsson, Alan Bradley, Joe Ide, David Heska Wanbli Weiden, Mia P. Manansala, and Nita Prose.

Sue Feder Historical Mystery Award

Some of the winners of the Sue Feder Memorial Award include Rhys Bowen, Rebecca Cantrell, Charles Todd, Catriona McPherson, Sujata Massey, Lara Prescott, James Ziskin, Naomi Hirahara, and Lev A.C. Rosen.

Best Short Story

The Best Short Story Award has previously gone to such authors as Sue Grafton, Robert Barnard, Joan Hess, Margaret Maron, Jan Burke, Reginald Hill, Hank Phillippi Ryan, Dana Cameron, Barb Goffman, Art Taylor, Megan Abbott, Gabriel Valjan, and Richard Helms.

Best Mystery Critical/Biographical

The Best Mystery Nonfiction/Critical Award has undergone a few name changes over the years, but the award has previously gone to such authors as Marcia Muller, Bill Pronzini, H.R.F. Keating, Ed Gorman, Charlaine Harris, Martin Edwards, Lee Child, and Laurie R. King.

Best of luck to all of the nominees! The winners will be announced on August 28th, 2024 at the Bouchercon Opening Ceremonies in Nashville, Tennessee.

For more on the Macavity Awards, please visit Mystery Readers International.

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Book Notification is an Amazon Associate. Book links to Amazon, eBay and other book stores are affiliate links, and we earn money from any qualifying purchases.

Welcome to Book Notification!

Are we missing any books or looking for an author that isn't on the site? Have any feedback or ideas that will enhance your experience? Contact us below.

    To see what we are currently working on as well as some of our future plans, see our road map.
    Monthly Contest
    affiliate disclaimer

    We are giving away 10 $25 gift cards. Every time you comment on an author page in the Author Discussion section at the bottom, you are entered into the sweepstakes. So get commenting! Winners announced in the next newsletter.

    Upcoming Books
    Jun 18
    Jun 18
    Jun 18
    Popular Authors:
    Todays Most Followed Authors:
    Skip to content