2023 Women’s Prize For Fiction Shortlist Is Out!

By: Brandon Williams, April 27th, 2023 3:04 am.

The shortlist for the 2023 Women’s Prize for Fiction has been announced!

The Women’s Prize for Fiction is a literary award that celebrates outstanding works of fiction written by women from all over the world. The award was first established in 1996 in response to the underrepresentation of women in literary prizes and has since become one of the most prestigious literary awards in the world.

Each year, a panel of judges selects a shortlist of six novels written by women, which are then announced in April. The winner is then selected from this shortlist and announced in June. The prize money for the winner is £30,000, and the shortlisted authors each receive £1,000.

The Women’s Prize for Fiction is open to any woman writing in English, regardless of her nationality, country of residence or age. The books submitted for consideration must be published in the United Kingdom in the year of the award. The prize has a reputation for promoting diversity and inclusivity in literature, and many of the winning books have tackled important social and political issues.

Over the years, the Women’s Prize for Fiction has recognized many acclaimed authors, including Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, Zadie Smith, and Ali Smith. The award has also helped to launch the careers of new and emerging female writers, such as Kamila Shamsie and Eimear McBride.

In addition to the main prize, the Women’s Prize for Fiction also sponsors various initiatives to promote women’s writing, including the Discoveries Programme, which provides support and mentoring to unpublished writers.

The Women’s Prize for Fiction is an important platform for celebrating and promoting the voices of women in literature. Its commitment to diversity and inclusivity has helped to expand the literary landscape and bring attention to important issues facing women around the world.

The shortlist for this year’s Women’s Prize for Fiction are as follows:

2023 Women’s Prize For Fiction Nominees

Congratulations to all six women!

The winner of the prestigious award will be announced on June 14th. For more information, please see their website.

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Book Notification is an Amazon Associate. Book links to Amazon, eBay and other book stores are affiliate links, and we earn money from any qualifying purchases.

Welcome to Book Notification!

Are we missing any books or looking for an author that isn't on the site? Have any feedback or ideas that will enhance your experience? Contact us below.

    To see what we are currently working on as well as some of our future plans, see our road map.
    Monthly Contest
    affiliate disclaimer

    We are giving away 10 $25 USD gift cards. For our new monthly reader mailbag: simply let us know what book series you would take with you, if you were stranded on a desert island. Note: you must be a registered user of Book Notification. Click here to login or register.

    Upcoming Books
    Jul 19
    Jul 19
    Jul 19
    Jul 19
    Popular Authors:
    Todays Most Followed Authors:
    Skip to content