2023 Macavity Award Nominees Announced

By: Brandon Williams, August 1st, 2023 11:08 pm.

The nominees for the 2023 Macavity Awards are out!

The Macavity Awards, named after T.S. Eliot’s mysterious cat character “Macavity” from his poem “Old Possum’s Book of Practical Cats,” are annual literary awards presented to authors of mystery fiction and crime fiction. Established in 1986, the Macavity Awards are unique in that they are nominated and voted upon by members of Mystery Readers International (MRI), a global organization of mystery enthusiasts and professionals.

The awards honor outstanding works in various categories within the mystery and crime fiction genre, including Best Mystery Novel, Best First Mystery Novel, Best Mystery Short Story, and more. The winners will be announced at the opening ceremonies of the San Diego Bouchercon in late August.

Best Mystery Novel

Best First Mystery

Best Mystery Critical/Biographical

Best Short Story

Sue Feder Historical Mystery Award

For more information on the Macavity Awards, please visit their website. Or, if you are interested in attending Bouchercon, you can check out Bouchercon.com.

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Book Notification is an Amazon Associate. Book links to Amazon, eBay and other book stores are affiliate links, and we earn money from any qualifying purchases.

Welcome to Book Notification!

Are we missing any books or looking for an author that isn't on the site? Have any feedback or ideas that will enhance your experience? Contact us below.

    To see what we are currently working on as well as some of our future plans, see our road map.
    Monthly Contest
    affiliate disclaimer

    We are giving away 10 $25 USD gift cards. For our new monthly reader mailbag: simply let us know what book series you would take with you, if you were stranded on a desert island. Note: you must be a registered user of Book Notification. Click here to login or register.

    Upcoming Books
    Jul 25
    Jul 25
    Jul 25
    Jul 25
    Popular Authors:
    Todays Most Followed Authors:
    Skip to content