2023 CWC Awards of Excellence Nominees Released

By: Brandon Williams, May 2nd, 2023 1:05 am.

The nominees for the Crime Writers of Canada Awards of Excellence for 2023 are out!

The Crime Writers of Canada Awards of Excellence, formerly known as the Arthur Ellis Awards, is an annual literary prize awarded to Canadian crime writers.

The CWC Awards of Excellence (then known as the Ellis Awards) were first presented in 1984 to recognize excellence in Canadian crime writing. The awards have since become one of the most prestigious literary prizes in Canada, and are highly sought after by Canadian crime writers.

The awards are presented in several categories, including Best Novel, Best First Novel, Best Crime Novel Set in Canada, Best Traditional Mystery, Best Novella, Best Short Story, Best Non-Fiction, and Best Juvenile/YA. In addition, there is also a special category called the Derrick Murdoch Award, which is presented to a Canadian author who has made a significant contribution to the crime writing community. This year, the winner is Jack Batten.

Over the years, these awards have recognized many of Canada’s most talented crime writers. Some of the most notable winners include Louise Penny, who has won multiple Arthur Ellis Awards for her Inspector Gamache series; Peter Robinson, who has won for both his Inspector Banks series and his standalone novel, Before the Poison; and Linwood Barclay, who has won for his standalone thrillers.

The CWC Awards of Excellence are a testament to the talent and creativity of Canadian crime writers. The awards showcase the best in Canadian crime writing, and recognize the hard work and dedication of the authors who bring these thrilling stories to life. If you’re a fan of crime fiction, the Awards of Excellence are a great way to discover some of Canada’s most talented crime writers.

The nominees for the 2023 awards are as follows:

Best Crime Novel

Best First Crime Novel

Best Crime Novel Set In Canada

Best Juvenile or YA Crime Book

Best Traditional Crime Novel

Best Crime Novella

Best Crime Short Story

Best Nonfiction Crime Book

  • The Castleton Massacre: Survivors’ Stories of the Killins Femicide by Sharon Anne Cook and Margaret Carson
  • How to Solve a Cold Case: And Everything Else You Wanted to Know about Catching Killers by Michael Arntfield
  • Lost in the Valley of Death: A Story of Obsession and Danger in the Himalayas by Harley Rustad
  • The Betrayal of Anne Frank: A Cold Case Investigation by Rosemary Sullivan
  • Scoundrel by Sarah Weinman

Congratulations to all of the nominees (and the one winner)!

For more information on these awards (including the prize amounts), please visit the Crime Writers of Canada website.

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Book Notification is an Amazon Associate. Book links to Amazon, eBay and other book stores are affiliate links, and we earn money from any qualifying purchases.

Welcome to Book Notification!

Are we missing any books or looking for an author that isn't on the site? Have any feedback or ideas that will enhance your experience? Contact us below.

    To see what we are currently working on as well as some of our future plans, see our road map.
    Monthly Contest
    affiliate disclaimer

    We are giving away 10 $25 USD gift cards. For our new monthly reader mailbag: simply let us know what book series you would take with you, if you were stranded on a desert island. Note: you must be a registered user of Book Notification. Click here to login or register.

    Upcoming Books
    Popular Authors:
    Todays Most Followed Authors:
    Skip to content