2023 CWC Awards of Excellence Winners Announced

By: Brandon Williams, June 2nd, 2023 2:06 am.

The 2023 Crime Writers of Canada Awards of Excellence have been given out!

The Crime Writers of Canada Awards of Excellence is an annual event that celebrates and recognizes outstanding achievements in the field of crime writing. Founded in 1982, the Crime Writers of Canada is a professional organization dedicated to promoting Canadian crime writing and supporting its authors.

The Awards of Excellence serve as the pinnacle of recognition for Canadian crime writers, honoring their contributions to the genre and acknowledging their literary achievements. The event brings together authors, publishers, industry professionals, and avid readers to celebrate the best in crime writing and to create a vibrant community of enthusiasts.

The awards cover a wide range of categories, recognizing excellence in various forms of crime writing. These categories include Best Crime Novel, Best First Crime Novel, Best Crime Novella, Best Crime Short Story, Best Crime Non-Fiction Book, and more. Each category showcases the diversity and talent within Canadian crime writing, highlighting the exceptional storytelling, character development, and narrative craftsmanship that make the genre so captivating.

2023 Crime Writers Of Canada Award Winners

  • Best Crime Novel: Going to Beautiful by Anthony Bidulka
  • Best Crime First Novel: Citizens of Light by Sam Shelstad
  • Best Crime Novel Set in Canada: A Snake in the Raspberry Patch by Joanne Jackson
  • Best Traditional Mystery: Deep House by Thomas King
  • Best Crime Novella: The Man Who Went Down Under by Alexis Stefanovich-Thomson
  • Best Crime Short Story: The Girl Who Was Only Three Quarters Dead by Craig H. Bowlsby
  • Best French Crime Book: Monsieur Hämmerli by Richard Ste-Marie
  • Best Juvenile or YA Crime Book: Heartbreak Homes by Jo Treggiar
  • Best Nonfiction Crime Book: The Betrayal of Anne Frank: A Cold Case Investigation by Rosemary Sullivan
  • The Award for Best Unpublished Manuscript: Snowed by Mary Keenan

In addition to all of the award winners, Jack Batten received the Derrick Murdoch Award for contributions to the crime genre.

If you wish, you may watch the awards presentation on YouTube.

For more information on all of the awards, including prize amounts and sponsors, please visit the CWC’s website.

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Book Notification is an Amazon Associate. Book links to Amazon, eBay and other book stores are affiliate links, and we earn money from any qualifying purchases.

Welcome to Book Notification!

Are we missing any books or looking for an author that isn't on the site? Have any feedback or ideas that will enhance your experience? Contact us below.

    To see what we are currently working on as well as some of our future plans, see our road map.
    Monthly Contest
    affiliate disclaimer

    We are giving away 10 $25 gift cards. Every time you comment on an author page in the Author Discussion section at the bottom, you are entered into the sweepstakes. So get commenting! Winners announced in the next newsletter.

    Upcoming Books
    May 19

    Written by J. Bree

    May 19
    May 19
    Popular Authors:
    Todays Most Followed Authors:
    Skip to content