2023 Barry Award Nominations Are Out

By: Brandon Williams, March 15th, 2023 5:03 pm.

Award season continues with the 2023 Barry Award nominations!

The Barry Awards are a set of literary awards that are given annually to recognize excellence in crime fiction. The awards are named in honor of Barry Gardner, a renowned fan reviewer and critic of crime fiction.

The Barry Awards were first established in 1997 by Deadly Pleasures magazine, which is a quarterly publication that focuses on crime and mystery fiction. The awards are given out in several different categories, including Best Mystery/Crime Novel, Best Debut Mystery/Crime Novel, and Best Thriller. Absent this year is the award for Best Paperback Original.

The winners of the Barry Awards are selected by a panel of judges who are themselves writers, reviewers, and critics in the crime fiction genre. The judges change from year to year, and they are selected by Deadly Pleasures magazine.

The Barry Awards have become one of the most prestigious awards in the crime fiction genre, and they are highly coveted by authors and publishers alike. Winning a Barry Award can help to increase an author’s visibility and recognition within the crime fiction community, and can also lead to increased sales and broader readership.

Here are the nominees for 2023’s Barry Awards:

Best Mystery/Crime Novel

Best Debut Mystery/Crime Novel

Best Thriller

The winners will be announced during Bouchercon-San Diego on August 31st, 2023.

For more on the Barry Awards, please visit deadlypleasures.com.

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Book Notification is an Amazon Associate. Book links to Amazon, eBay and other book stores are affiliate links, and we earn money from any qualifying purchases.

Welcome to Book Notification!

Are we missing any books or looking for an author that isn't on the site? Have any feedback or ideas that will enhance your experience? Contact us below.

    To see what we are currently working on as well as some of our future plans, see our road map.
    Monthly Contest
    affiliate disclaimer

    We are giving away 10 $25 gift cards. Every time you comment on an author page in the Author Discussion section at the bottom, you are entered into the sweepstakes. So get commenting! Winners announced in the next newsletter.

    Upcoming Books
    May 19

    Written by J. Bree

    May 19
    May 19
    Popular Authors:
    Todays Most Followed Authors:
    Skip to content