2022 Riverton Prize Winner Announced!

By: Brandon Williams, May 2nd, 2023 11:05 pm.

The 2022 Riverton Prize has been awarded!

The Riverton Prize is a prestigious literary award given annually to a Norwegian crime fiction author for the best novel of the year in the genre. The award was first presented in 1972 and is named after the town of Riverton, which is the pseudonym used by the Norwegian crime writer and journalist, Johan Theodor Harbitz.

The Riverton Prize is one of the oldest and most respected literary awards in Norway, and it has played a significant role in promoting the genre of crime fiction in the country. The prize is awarded by the Norwegian Crime Writers’ Association, a professional organization that represents crime writers in Norway.

The winner of the Riverton Prize is selected by a jury composed of members of the Norwegian Crime Writers’ Association. The criteria for the award are based on the quality of the writing, the originality of the plot, and the overall contribution of the novel to the genre of crime fiction. The winner receives a cash prize and a statuette of a golden revolver.

Over the years, the Riverton Prize has been awarded to some of the most talented and acclaimed Norwegian crime writers, including Jo Nesbø, Karin Fossum, and Anne Holt. These authors have not only achieved great success in Norway but have also gained international recognition for their work.

In addition to the Riverton Prize, the Norwegian Crime Writers’ Association also presents several other awards to promote and recognize the work of crime writers in Norway. These include the Riverton Club Honorary Award and the Riverton Club’s International Honor Award.

The Riverton Prize is an important cultural event in Norway, and it helps to promote crime fiction as a serious and respected genre of literature. The award recognizes the skill and dedication of crime writers and celebrates their contribution to Norwegian literature and culture.

The winner of 2022’s awards are listed in bold with the nominees listed as well.

Best Norwegian Crime Story

International Honor Award

Congratulations to Ingrid and Hakan! In addition, Krimfestivalen organizers Knut Gørvell and Pip Hallén received the Honorary Award.

For more information on the awards, you can visit this website (although you will either need to know Norwegian or use a translator).

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Book Notification is an Amazon Associate. Book links to Amazon, eBay and other book stores are affiliate links, and we earn money from any qualifying purchases.

Welcome to Book Notification!

Are we missing any books or looking for an author that isn't on the site? Have any feedback or ideas that will enhance your experience? Contact us below.

    To see what we are currently working on as well as some of our future plans, see our road map.
    Monthly Contest
    affiliate disclaimer

    We are giving away 10 $25 gift cards. Every time you comment on an author page in the Author Discussion section at the bottom, you are entered into the sweepstakes. So get commenting! Winners announced in the next newsletter.

    Upcoming Books
    Popular Authors:
    Todays Most Followed Authors:
    Skip to content